Canterbury Christ Church University UCU Rotating Header Image

CCCU UCU – Welcome and Branch Contacts

Welcome to the University and College Union at Canterbury Christ Church University. Please explore the tabs above to find out more about the Union, how to join and how we can help.

What is the Union doing for you?

A large amount of our time – around 80 per cent – is taken up in casework, representing individual members and also raising matters of concern directly with the Vice Chancellor, the Senior Management Team (SMT) and Human Resources. Bullying is a constant complaint but there are many other issues we represent members on, including excessive workloads, discrimination, contractual disputes and disability and equality issues. We have made significant headway on all of these but there is still a long way to go.

During the course of the coming year we will focus on:

  • Improving communication
  • A stronger staff voice
  • More effective local campaigning
  • Greater involvement in national campaigns

Who we are:

Branch Chair: Bryan Hawkins

byran.hawkins@canterbury.ac.uk

Branch Secretary: Antonia Sama

antonio.sama@canterbury.ac.uk

Equalities and Diversity Officer: Craig Potter he/him/his

craig.potter@canterbury.ac.uk

Health and Safety Officer: Chris Biela

christopher.biela@canterbury.ac.uk

Membership Officer: John Bulaitis and Ian Jasper (role-share)

john.bulaitis@canterbury.ac.uk

ian.jasper@canterbury.ac.uk

Jim Butcher/Treasurer

jim.butcher@canterbury.ac.uk

Magz Hall/Communications

magz.hall@canterbury.ac.uk

BAME Officer: Juman Simaan

juman.simaan@canterbury.ac.uk

LGBTQ+ Officer: Caroline Digby-Bowl she/her/hers and Jen Leighton she/her/hers (role-share)

caroline.digby@canterbury.ac.uk

jen.leighton@canterbury.ac.uk

Women Officer: Sarah Laslett

sarah.laslett@canterbury.ac.uk

Professional Services Officer: Tasha Andrews

tasha.andrews@canterbury.ac.uk

Faculty Medicine, Health and Social Care Rep: Adele Phillips

adele.phillips@canterbury.ac.uk

Faculty Art, Humanities and Education Rep: Leonie Hicks

leonie.hicks@canterbury.ac.uk

Ken Fox Board of Governors UCU incoming

ken.fox@canterbury.ac.uk