Welcome, Branch Contacts

Welcome to the University and College Union at Canterbury Christ Church University. Please explore the tabs above to find out more about the Union, how to join and how we can help.

What is the Union doing for you?

A large amount of our time – around 80 per cent – is taken up in casework, representing individual members and also raising matters of concern directly with the Vice Chancellor, the Senior Management Team (SMT) and Human Resources. Bullying is a constant complaint but there are many other issues we represent members on, including excessive workloads, discrimination, contractual disputes and disability and equality issues. We have made significant headway on all of these but there is still a long way to go.

During the course of the coming year we will focus on:

  • Improving communication
  • A stronger staff voice
  • More effective local campaigning
  • Greater involvement in national campaigns

Who we are:

Equalities and Diversity Officer: Craig Potter also interim Co Branch Chair he/him/his

craig.potter@canterbury.ac.uk

Health and Safety Officer: Chris Biela

christopher.biela@canterbury.ac.uk

Membership Officers:

John Bulaitis also interim Co Branch Secretary 

john.bulaitis@canterbury.ac.uk

Ian Jasper (Membership role-share)

ian.jasper@canterbury.ac.uk

LGBTQ+ Officers: Caroline Digby-Bowl she/her/hers also interim Co Branch Chair

caroline.digby@canterbury.ac.uk

Jen Leighton she/her/hers (LGBTQ+ role-share)

jen.leighton@canterbury.ac.uk

In addition to the LGBTQIA+ Officer CCCU email addresses a non-CCCU email address is also available for members to make contact at CanterburyUCU.lgbtq@outlook.com.

Women’s Officer: Sarah Laslett

sarah.laslett@canterbury.ac.uk

Faculty Medicine, Health and Social Care Rep: Adele Phillips

adele.phillips@canterbury.ac.uk

Faculty Art, Humanities and Education Rep: Leonie Hicks

leonie.hicks@canterbury.ac.uk

Board of Governors

ken.fox@canterbury.ac.uk

Communication Secretary (Interim)

david.hitchcock@canterbury.ac.uk

Branch Elections are happening in March 2022 we welcome members to get in contact and stand for these roles:

Branch Co-Chairs:  Craig Potter and Caroline Digby-Bowl

Branch Secretary: John Bulaitis

Treasurer:  Vacant 

BAME Officer: Vacant Role

Professional Services Officer:  Vacant Role

Meetings schedule 2022

CCCU_UCU_Meetings_Calendar_2021-2022